RECORD: 1881. The proposed memorial to Dean Stanley. The Times (13 December): 8.

REVISION HISTORY: Scanned by John van Wyhe. Transcribed (single key) by AEL Data. 9.2008. RN1

[page break]


At the meeting to be held at Westminster to-day in furtherance of the scheme for raising a memorial to the late Dean Stanley, the following resolutions will be submitted:—

"1. That the genius, the character, and the public services of the late Dean of Westminster eminently entitle him to a national memorial"—to be proposed by his Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, K.G., seconded by Earl Cranville, K.G., and supported by his Excellency the Hon. J. Russell Lowell, United States Minister.

"2. That in the opinion of this meeting such memorial should consist, in the first place, of a recumbent figure of the Dean, to be carved in marble, and placed as nearly as possible over the grave where he and Lady Augusta Stanley lie buried; and should include, secondly, the completion of the windows of the Chapter-house in accordance with the plan carefully prepared, and in fact commenced, by himself"—to be proposed by his Grace the Archbishop of Canterbury, Seconded by the Marquis of Salisbury, K.G., and supported by Mr. Samuel Morley, M.P.

"3. That a general committee be formed to receive contributions, and to carry out the projected memorial. The committee to be authorised to direct the application of any surplus which may remain. The committee to consist of the following persons:—His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, K.G., the Archbishop of Canterbury, the Archbishop of York, the Archbishop of Armagh, the Archbishop of Dublin, the Duke of Argyll, K.T., the Duke of Buccleuch, K.G., the Duke of Devonshire, K.G., the Duke of Westminster, K.G., the United States Minister, the Marquis of Salisbury, K.G., the Marquis of Lorne, K.T., the Earl of Derby, the Earl of Shaftesbury, K.G., the Earl of Carnarven, Earl Granville, K.G., the Earl of Elgin and Kincardine, Viscount Cardwall, the Lord Bishop of London, the Lord Bishop of Durham, the Lord Bishop of Winchester, the Lord Bishop of St. Alban's the Lord Bishop of Gloucester and Bristol, the Lord Bishop of Peterborough, the Lord Bishop of Exeter, the Lord Bishop of Oxford, the Lord Bishop of Manchester, the Bishop of Dover, Bishop Piers Claughton, Lord Crewe, Lord Stanley of Alderlay, Lord Houghton, Lord Aberdare, Lord Coleridge, the Very Rev. Lord Alwyne Compton, the Hon. Thomas C. Bruce, M.P., the Speaker of the House of Commons, the Hon. and Rev. W.H. Fremantle, the Right Hon. Sir Stafford Northcote, M.P., the Right Hon. Sir John Mowbray, M.P., the Right Hon. Sir Richard Cross, G.C.B., M.P., the Right Hon. Sir E. Bartle Frero, G.C.S.L, K.C.B., the Right Hon. W. E. Forster, M.P., the Right Hon. W. H. Smith, M.P., the Right Hon. Lyon Playfair. B., M.P., the Right Hon. the Lord Mayor of London, Sir Henry Holland, Sir William Jenner, Sir, Charles Trevelyan, K.C.B., Sir Rutherford Alcock, K.C.B., Sir Charles S. C. Bowen, Sir Thomas Brassey, K.C.B., M.P., Sir George W. Desent, D.C.L., Sir Arthur Hobhouse, K.C.S.I., Sir Joseph Hooker, F.R.S., Sir Frederick Leighton, P.R.A., Sir R.B.W. Lingen, C.B., Sir Theodore Martin, K.C.B., Sir J. Fitzjamos Stephen, K.C.S.I., the Dean of Westminster, the Dean of St. Paul's, the Dean of Windsor, the Dean of Christ Church, the Dean of Chester, the Dean of Dlandaff, the Dean of Wells, the Vice-Chancellor of the University Oxford, the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge, the Master of Trinity, the Master of Balliot, the Rev. the Head Master of Westminster, the Rev. the Head Master of Harrow, the Rev. the Head Master of Rugby, the Ven. the Archdeacon of Maidstone, the Ven. the Archdeacon of Westminster, the Rev. Canon Prothero, the Rev. Canon Duckworth, D.D., the Rev. Canon Farrar, D.D., the Rev. Canon Barry, D.D., the Rev. Canon Rowsell, the Rev. Canon Pearson, the Rev. Canon Westcott, Dr. Acland, the Rev. Dr. Allon, Mr. Matthew Arnold, Mr. J.F. Bateman, F.R.S., Mr. R. Browning, Mr. F. W. Burton, the Very Rev. Principal Caird, Dr. Carpenter, C.B., F.R.S., Colopel Chester, D.C.L., Mr. Charles Darwin, D.C.L., F.R.S., the Rev. J. Llewellyn Davies, the Rev. H. de Bunsen, Mr. H. D. Erskine, Professor Flower, F.R.S., Mr. J.A. Fronde, D.C.L., Mr. George Grove, D.C.L., Dr. Harper, Mr. Thomas Hughes, Q.C., Professor Hurley, F.R.S., the Rev. Harry Jones, the Rev. S. Flood Jones, the Rev. James Martinean, D.D., Professor Max Muller, Mr. Arthur Mills, the Rev. H. H. Montgomery, Mr. Samuel Morley, M.P., Mr. John Murray, Mr. C. S. Parker, M.P., Mr. Hodgson Pratt, Professor Bonamy Price, Dr. Radcliffe, Mr. George Richmond, R.A., the Rev. J. Brigg, D.D., Principal Shairp, Professor H. J. S. Smith, F.R.S., Mr. William Spottiswoode, P.R.S., the Rev. Dr. Story, the Rev. Dr.Stoughton, Mr. John G. Talbot, M.P., Mr. Alfred Tennyson, D.C.L., the Very Rev. Principal Tulloch, Professor Tyndall, F.R.S., Mr. Theodore Wairond, C.B., with power to add to their number. The Dean of Westminster to be treasurer, and Lord Francis Hervey, the Rev. John Troutbeck, and the Rev. A. Gerald Bowman to be honorary secretaries." This resolution will be proposed by his Excellency the Marquis of Lorne, K.T., Governor-General of Canada; seconded by Lord Coleridge, Lord Chief Justice of England; and supported by Mr. Gardiner, Member of the Working Men's Club and Institute Union.

An account has been opened at Messrs. Doutts's Bank under the name of the "Dean Stanley Memorial Fund,"with the Dean of Westminster as treasurer, and Lord Francis Hervoy, the Rev. John Iroutbeck, and the Rev. A. Gerald Bowman as honorary secretaries. It is requested that all contributions may be paid to the Very Rev. the Dean of Westminster, Deanery, Westminster, S.W.

This document has been accessed 3252 times

Return to homepage

Citation: John van Wyhe, editor. 2002-. The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online. (

File last updated 2 July, 2012