RECORD: Darwin, C. R. 'M Lamarck arranges "Les Animals sans Vertebrae"' CUL-DAR5.A28

REVISION HISTORY: Transcribed from the manuscript by Kees Rookmaaker, corrections by John van Wyhe 3.2010. RN1

NOTE: Editorial symbols used in the transcription:
[some text] 'some text' is an editorial insertion
[some text] 'some text' is the conjectured reading of an ambiguous word or passage
[some text] 'some text' is a description of a word or passage that cannot be transcribed
< > word(s) destroyed
<some text> 'some text' is a description of a destroyed word or passage
Text in small red font is a hyperlink or notes added by the editors.

Reproduced with permission of the Syndics of Cambridge University Library and William Huxley Darwin.

[28 recto]

M. Lamarck arranges "Les Animals sans Vertebrae " into 7 orders, viz:

1st. Les Mollusques
2nd. Les Crustacees
3rd Les Arachnides
4th Les Insectes
5th Les Vers
6th Les Radiaceae
7th Les Polypes

The first of which he thus subdivided

Mollusca with head
1. Naked
a. Those which swim at liberty, as Sepia
b. Those which creep on the belly as Limara
2. Covered with shell
a. One celled, not special, as Patella
b. One celled special, umbilicate as Baccinum
c. One celled, imperforate, as Turbo
d. Many cells enclosing by animals as Nautilus
Mollusca headless
1. Naked, as Ascidia
2. Covered with shell.
a. Two valves equal, with or without acc. one as Mytilus
b. two valves unequal [inctures] in tube, as Taedus

[28 verso]

c. Two unequal valves with or without hinge, as Astrea
d. More than two valves, as Balanus.

This document has been accessed 4266 times

Return to homepage

Citation: John van Wyhe, editor. 2002-. The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online. (

File last updated 2 July, 2012