RECORD: Darwin, C.R. 1870. [Testimonial.] In: Thomson, Charles Wyville. 1870. Regius professorship of natural history in the University of Edinburgh. Copy of application from Professor Wyville Thomson, LL.D., F.R.S., L. & E. &c., &c.; with testimonials, p.10.

REVISION HISTORY: Transcribed by Kees Rookmaaker and edited by John van Wyhe 5.2015. With thanks to Rodolfo J. Alaniz and Malgosia Nowak-kemp. RN1


[page] 10

From Charles Darwin, M.A., F.R.S., &c. &c.

Down, Beckenham, Kent, October 10th, 1870.

My dear Sir, — I am very glad to hear that you are a candidate for the chair of Natural History in the University of Edinburgh. You have my sincere good wishes for your success, for to the best of my judgment, you have proved yourself well fitted for the post by what you have done in science and by the course of your recent investigations.

Should you succeed you will have an admirable opportunity for bringing forward and encouraging new recruits in science, and as I believe you will do your utmost, I cordially wish you success.—

I remain, my dear sir, yours very faithfully,

Charles Darwin.

To Professor Wyville Thomson.

1 Charles Wyville Thomson (1830-1882), Scottish naturalist and oceanographer. The undated draft of this letter was published in Correspondence vol. 18, letter 7337. See also Darwin 1880.

[title page]


This document has been accessed 1233 times

Return to homepage

Citation: John van Wyhe, editor. 2002-. The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online. (http://darwin-online.org.uk/)

File last updated 10 June, 2015