RECORD: Paget, James. 1882.04.26. Letter to George Howard Darwin. CUL-DAR215.6f. Edited by John van Wyhe (Darwin Online, http://darwin-online.org.uk/)

REVISION HISTORY: Transcribed by Christine Chua and edited by John van Wyhe 11.2021. RN1

NOTE: See record in the Darwin Online manuscript catalogue, enter its Identifier here. Reproduced with permission of the Syndics of Cambridge University Library and William Huxley Darwin.

"Paget, Sir James, Bart, 1814-99. Surgeon and pathologist. St. Bartholomew's Hospital. 1851 FRS. 1857 Feb. 13, CD accompanied ED to see P for a busted lip. 1869 Apr. 21, P came to see CD after CD's fall from Tommy. 1871 CD to W. Turner, "he is so charming a man", and notes that he had been seriously ill of a postmortem infection. 1871 1st Bart. 1872 P gave CD information for Expression. 1875 CD to Hooker; P probably agreed to Litchfield's draft sketch for a vivisection bill. 1875 CD thanked P for sending his Clinical lectures and essays. CCD23. 1880 CD to Hooker, on P's work on growth in plants and on galls. ML2:425. 1881 CD met P at breakfast party for International Medical Congress in London. 1882 P was on "Personal Friends invited" list for CD's funeral. 1882 Nov. 29, ED saw P again. 1883-95 Vice-Chancellor University of London. 1882 recollections of CD in DAR112.A86-A93, transcribed in Darwin Online." (Paul van Helvert & John van Wyhe, Darwin: A Companion, 2021)


[6f]

[To GHD]

1 Harewood Place, Hanover Square, W.

April 26. 1882.

Dear Mr. Darwin

Let me thank you for your note – I should have counted it an honour to appear among your father's acknowledged friends and it will be a great happiness to me to remember that I was one of them –

Believe me very truly yours

James Paget.


This document has been accessed 290 times

Return to homepage

Citation: John van Wyhe, ed. 2002-. The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online. (http://darwin-online.org.uk/)

File last updated 16 January, 2023