RECORD: Darwin, C. R. 1902. [Letter to W. S. Dallas, 1871]. In Adrian H. Joline, Meditations of an autograph collector. New York and London: Harper & Brothers, pp. 256-7.

REVISION HISTORY: Transcribed and edited by John van Wyhe. RN1

NOTE: See record in the Freeman Bibliographical Database, enter its Identifier here.

[page] 256

Jan 27, [1871]

My dear sir,—

I was so ill yesterday I hardly knew what I wrote. I am infinitely obliged to you. I should be grateful for any other corrections

[page] 257

in Vol. 2, but never mind mere ordinary words misspelt, as reader will see oversight. But any names or scientific terms wrongly spelt ought to be corrected. I find Sir J. Lubbock spells Chloeon (?) as I do, so I have left it. Trostritica (?) is an awful blunder and … I felt I was in error, but stupidly I did not look to any book. I am always blundering in names and scientific terms. About Snipes gross oversight in reasoning, but this must stand till new edit. if there ever is one. In Vol 2 I remember in 2d revise correcting Callhorrhinus (?) and Delianus (?) so I hope they are correct in clean sheets.— Again accept my cordial thanks

Yours sincerely

Ch. Darwin

Good God how glad I shall be when I can drive the whole of the confounded book out of my head—

So you will be the Index—   I have, of course, accepted all your corrections except Chloëon.—

This document has been accessed 1760 times

Return to homepage

Citation: John van Wyhe, ed. 2002-. The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online. (

File last updated 28 November, 2022